Events - Tuesday, 14 March 2006

University of Michigan: Hill Auditorium
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Tuesday, 14 March 2006 - 8:00 PM
Lured by the Horizon (2005) for Orchestra is in five movements or “snapshots” of the Pacific Northwest. It was premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Nikolas Caoile on 14 March, 2006 at Hill Auditorium (Ann Arbor, Michigan).

Growth examines the adaptability, hopeful nature, and adventurous spirit of the people who lived in the region during the late nineteenth- and early twentieth-centuries. Since the 1840s and into the present, people have moved west with the hope of building a better life. This led to boomtowns throughout the region during the gold rush period (1848-56) and logging camps during the Depression-era (1929-41). My own maternal grandparents left Minnesota for Southwest Washington in the late 1930s, while my paternal grandparents left Missouri in the mid-1940s.

Rust is based on a set of photographs taken by the composer in 2004 that examine the contrast between the rich, natural beauty of the region with evidence of the dire economic depression that follows the collapse of an exploitative industry. Images of oxidizing machinery enmeshed by thorny brambles are especially evocative of these ideas.

Currents considers the Columbia River Basin that extends from Oregon to Canada, and from the Pacific Ocean to Idaho; it provides food, commerce, hydroelectric power, and recreational entertainment for the region. The river’s magnificent beauty and surprisingly treacherous undercurrents inspire two musical motives that guide the listener through the movement.

Cut focuses on the dual nature of the logging industry as both an employer of thousands of people and the catalyst for severe environmental changes in the region. This drama is underscored by juxtaposing a dissonant harmonic language against stark woodwind interjections and string pizzicati.

Return is inspired by my emotional reactions to photographs I took in 2004 of abandoned barns being re-absorbed by nature. Framed within a tonal harmonic language, I combine musical materials from the previous four movements to evoke how the end of one entity can foster and enrich that which follows.

This piece was generously funded by a Predoctoral Fellowship granted by the University of Michigan Horace H. Rackham Graduate School. It is lovingly dedicated to my parents, Carl and Linda Reinkemeyer. Duration: ca. 15:15.

- Andrea Reinkemeyer
Presenter: University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Reinkemeyer: Lured by the Horizon for Orchestra
Ensemble: University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Nikolas Caoile
1 - 1 of 1
<March 2006>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Andrea Reinkemeyer to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Reinkemeyer: Wild Silk
Reinkemeyer: Half Moon Nocturne
Reinkemeyer: #@&%!* (expletive deleted) for Percussion Quartet
Reinkemeyer: Lured by the Horizon for Orchestra
Reinkemeyer: Four Poems for Robin, Soprano & Viola
Reinkemeyer: Elegy for Viola and Tape
Reinkemeyer: Through Leaves for Percussion and Digital Playback
Reinkemeyer: Over the Moon for Digital Playback
Reinkemeyer: Dos Danzas for Concert Band
Reinkemeyer: The Thaw for Soprano, Tenor, Mixed Choir and Wind Ensemble
Reinkemeyer: When Justice Reigns for Mixed Choir with Divisi

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore