The music of American composer Andrea Reinkemeyer explores “a  reverent sound world  that  hovers just above the brink of silence ” (Second Inversion) and expresses “ a gamut of emotions... from reverence and supplication to mournfulness and despair ” (textura); it is “ clever, funky, jazzy and virtuosic ” (Schenectady Daily Gazette), “ luminous ” (Fanfare Magazine),  enchanting ” (International Choral Bulletin),  and “ hauntingly melodic and fun, dancing and almost running its way forward... whimsical ” (Fanfare Magazine). Her current musical explorations focus on intersectional feminist narratives, natural phenomena, home and grief.

Reinkemeyer’s music is distributed by the  ADJ•ective Composers’ Collective  and featured on recordings by: In MulieribusIdit ShnerA/B Duo, and Post-Haste Reed Duo. Upcoming projects include new works for flutist Abigail Sperling with generous support of the Oregon Arts Commission and an opera scene for Rhymes with Opera. Recent commissions include: League of American Orchestras and Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra with support from the Virginia B. Toulmin FoundationAlbany (NY) Symphony Orchestra, H. Robert Reynolds and The Detroit Chamber Winds & StringsFear No MusicLacroute Arts Series at Linfield College, Rodney Dorsey for the University of Oregon Wind Ensemble and University Singers, a thirteen-school wind band consortium led by Brant Stai and the Sherwood High School Wind Ensemble, Miller Asbill and the Texas Tech University Concert Band, The Wild Swan Theater, Iowa Music Teachers’ Association, Jeffrey Heisler for the Primary Colors Trio, and many performers and visual artists. Her works are regularly performed nationally and internationally; featured performances include: the American Composers Orchestra Underwood New Music Readings, North-South Consonance Chamber Orchestra, Great Noise Ensemble, Thailand International Composition Festival, and conferences of the Society of Composers, Inc. (SCI) and Society of Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS). 

Dr. Reinkemeyer enjoys exploring music with students of all ages. In 2014, she joined the faculty of  Linfield University  in McMinnville, Oregon, where she serves as Associate Professor of Music (Composition & Theory) and Gender Studies. Previous positions include: Part-time Lecturer in the University of Oregon School of Music and Dance (2018), Mahidol University International College, in Salaya, Thailand (2011-12) and an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Composition, Theory and Technology at Bowling Green State University, Ohio (2005-10). Reinkemeyer has been the Composer-in-Residence with the: Michigan Philharmonic’s, “The Composer in Me!” Education Pilot Program (2010-11), American-Romanian Festival’s Fusion Project (2011), and Burns Park Elementary School (2004, 2005, 2010). She has mentored public school students through outreach programs with the Detroit Chamber Winds & Strings (2007) and Michigan Mentorship Program (2002, 2004). Her work with young musicians has been supported by a Meet the Composer/MetLife Creative Connections Grant.

Dr. Reinkemeyer holds degrees in music composition from the University of Michigan (MM and DMA) and University of Oregon (BM). Her primary composition teachers include: Michael Daugherty, Bright Sheng, Evan Chambers, Susan Botti, James Aikman, Robert Kyr, Jack Boss and Harold Owen. While a student, her work was recognized with the prestigious Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship, Regents’ Fellowship, Christine Rinaldo Memorial Scholarship, Graduate Student Instructor position in electronic music composition, the Ruth Lorraine Close Musical Fellows and Outstanding Creativity in Composition Award. In recognition of her work, Reinkemeyer was awarded the Julie Olds and Thomas L. Hellie Faculty Award for Creative Achievement at Linfield College in 2019.

Born and raised in Oregon, she has also lived in Ann Arbor, Michigan and Bangkok, Thailand.


  • Bio (different lengths):   Google  doc
  • Formal Headshot:   Color B&W  (Photo: Frank Miller, Copyright © 2015)
  • Informal Headshot:   Laughing  (Photo: Dana Linnane, Copyright © 2009)
<June 2021>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Andrea Reinkemeyer to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Reinkemeyer: Wild Silk
Reinkemeyer: Half Moon Nocturne
Reinkemeyer: #@&%!* (expletive deleted) for Percussion Quartet
Reinkemeyer: Lured by the Horizon for Orchestra
Reinkemeyer: Four Poems for Robin, Soprano & Viola
Reinkemeyer: Elegy for Viola and Tape
Reinkemeyer: Through Leaves for Percussion and Digital Playback
Reinkemeyer: Over the Moon for Digital Playback
Reinkemeyer: Dos Danzas for Concert Band
Reinkemeyer: The Thaw for Soprano, Tenor, Mixed Choir and Wind Ensemble
Reinkemeyer: When Justice Reigns for Mixed Choir with Divisi

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore